top of page

All Bodies Are Good Bodies

Updated: Nov 11, 2020

By Haarika Kathi, GGMP Mentor

 


 

In the 50s, Marilyn Monroe was considered by many to be the standard of beauty; she was a size 8 by today’s standards. The 90s were a decade of low rise jeans and size double zero supermodels. And these days, Kim Kardashian and Kylie Jenner are bringing back a curvier look. The fact is beauty standards are ever-changing, impossible to keep up with, and increasingly impossible to attain. There are billion dollar industries focused on preying on and profiting off of insecurities. It is almost impossible to consume any sort of media— TV, magazines, videos—without seeing some form of edit or modifications, whether it be makeup, photoshop, or lighting and posing.


It has been a journey, but I am finally at better place in regards to my own self-image and loving my body as it is. I worked to switch my mindset from a purely aesthetic goal to having one rooted in health and well-being. Hitting a certain number on the scale will not bring you long term happiness. At the end of the day, being the happiest, healthiest, and strongest version of me I can be is what is truly important. I don’t work out and choose to eat nutritious foods (and foods I enjoy!) because I hate my body; I do it out of love. Some actions I took include cleansing my social media of anything that glamorizes diet culture, creating a grateful mindset, and doing forms of physical activity that I genuinely enjoy. I personally love hiking and running, but everyone enjoys different things.


There has also been a recent, much-needed shift in medicine in regards to how we look at weight and BMI. The number on the scale rarely tells a complete story, and every body is different. It is possible to be healthy at any size. Moreover, your body does not define your self-worth. Treat yourself with kindness and give thanks for your body. It is strong. It is capable. It can help you dance and walk and move. And it has carried you through life thus far.


42 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page