top of page

Society's fickle. So why should we let it determine our body's worth?

In middle school, I remember standing in front of the mirror. I would frown at my “too-wide” hips, wishing I was a bit flatter, a lot more skinnier. Now, nearly a decade later, I embrace my body’s curves and stretch marks. I love every bit of it. But to get to this point? Boy, it wasn’t easy. And sometimes, there are still days I catch myself worrying about how my body looks.


It is hard, after all. I mean, when society keeps telling us to look a certain way, idealizing certain body types and certain proportions, it can be difficult to tell yourself that your body is amazing and perfect as is.


But the truth is, we shouldn’t care!


The body type that is “in” today won’t be in 10 years. In the past two decades already, we’ve seen the desired body type go from “skinny and flat” to “Kardashian curves.” Society is fickle, always changing its expectations and standards for people at the drop of a hat. So, why should we constantly compare and critique ourselves to something that won’t matter in 5 years?


Love yourself! Stare at yourself and tell yourself exactly what you love about it! You’re beautiful and your body does so much for you-- so be sure to appreciate it, as is.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page