top of page

Mastering the Art of Transfiguration

by Samhita Bhat, GGMP Mentor

 

I stole a quick glance at the mirror. The reflection I saw was someone I couldn't recognize. Rather than seeing the image of Samhita, a petite girl, I saw Raavana, the 10-headed demon of darkness. 


This transformation wasn't jarring to me though, it was a daily part of my life.


When you dance in the style of Bharatanatyam, an Indian classical dance you are expected to dive into the character of the story, whether it be a suffering denizen or a mythological Hindu creature. These mini metamorphoses were the root of my personal development as they allowed me to become a multifaceted person with varying interests and pursuits. 


Yet this transfiguration ability wasn't an innate quality.

It required rigor, concentration, and dedication to develop, something difficult for my 5-year old self.


Dance soon became more than techniques and performances. It was a platform to discover my personality, with each dance teaching me life-lessons. The most recurring lesson in dance was being empathetic, something that blossomed into my love for healthcare.


I’ve now been dancing for over 14 years, and I can’t imagine my life without the art form. It has allowed me to learn more about my own Indian background, and navigate the connections between being Indian and American. It has given me opportunities to give back to my community, by participating in art shows and fundraisers that have raised funds for local Bay Area organizations as well as international non-profit organizations. It has allowed me to make some of my best friends and be part of a larger dance community in the Bay Area. 


Now being a student at UC Berkeley, I’ve gotten to witness the diverse dance community on campus, and I hope to work on skills in other dance styles like hip-hop and contemporary. The passion for dance and the grit that each dancer has is a uniting factor, regardless of how different our styles may be. 

40 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page